This category contains 106 posts

District 98 challenger Jane Campbell lands EMILY’s List endorsement

Oct. 17. Jane Campbell, who is running as an independent for NC House District 98, has been endorsed by EMILY’s List, a nationwide advocacy group whose mission is to elect pro-choice Democratic women to public office. Campbell hopes to unseat Republican John Bradford in District 98 which includes Cornelius, Davidson and parts of Huntersville and […]


I-77 Business Plan endorses Cooper, also Tarte, Bradford

Oct. 4. An anti-toll group has endorsed Democrat Roy Cooper in the tightly contested race for governor of North Carolina. Known as I-77 Business Plan, the group, according to its website, includes outspoken former Lake Norman Chamber Chairman John Hettwer; John “Mac” McAlpine V, a teaching professor at UNC-Charlotte; Republican Mecklenburg County Commissioner Jim Puckett; […]

Screen Shot 2016-08-25 at 4.23.31 PM

Political Q&A on the menu for Newsmakers Breakfast Sept. 21

This coming Wednesday, four top political consultants—two Democrats and two Republicans—will field questions from the audience at the Cornelius Today/Business Today Newsmakers Breakfast at The Peninsula Club. It will be an exciting event, a la Meet The Press. The speakers will not have prepared comments, rather, the audience will pose questions in a free-wheeling Q&A […]


New poll has McCrory 9 points behind Cooper

Aug. 25. From the “There’s a Website for Everything Department,” polls from Monmouth University got the highest A+ rating from FiveThirtyEight.com, a website that ranks the accuracy of polls from Gallup (B-) to NBC News/Wall Street Journal (A-). Why the big buildup? Cooper’s lead is startling, but anything can happen this early in a race. […]


Commissioner Puckett throws cold water on aging I-77 culverts

Aug. 24. By Dave Vieser. Mecklenburg County Commissioner Jim Puckett has given NCDOT Secretary Nick Tennyson and Attorney General Roy Cooper a heads up around the culverts that connect Lake Norman with Lake Davidson and Lake Cornelius. Writes Puckett: The culverts could fail anywhere from 25 years from now to 50 years from now. The […]


Thanks to Puckett, county includes budget info with tax bills

Aug. 22. By Dave Vieser. It took several years, but Mecklenburg County is including information on how tax dollars are spent with the annual property tax bills. Previously, county tax bills only included the total tax payment due, but no explanation of where the money goes. The new bills included a small insert with that information; […]

Economists predict good election year

By Erica Batten. A recent Wells Fargo report analyzing the effects of an election year on the U. S. economy trumps the conventional wisdom that economic uncertainty surrounding a changing of the guard leads to slowdown. On the contrary, a variety of measures, including real GDP, consumer spending, disposable income and business fixed investments showed growth […]

It’s Campbell vs. Bradford in NC District 98 election

Jane Campbell, 51, a retired career Navy officer, is taking on incumbent NC Rep. John Bradford in the District 98 race this fall. Bradford is a Republican and Campbell is officially an independent, although she will have the backing of Democratic party members. RELATED: Jane Campbell Q&A Bradford is a successful entrepreneur, who founded Park […]


Tom Davis likely to fill in for NC Rep. Charles Jeter who resigned

July 26. By Dave Yochum. It looks like Tom Davis, who opposed NC Rep. Charles Jeter in the GOP primary, will be appointed to fill Jeter’s District 92 seat in the General Assembly. He has already been endorsed by a wide variety of Republican leaders, including: Mecklenburg County Commissioner Jim Puckett; Huntersville Mayor John Aneralla; Huntersville […]

US Sen Thom Tillis

ALEC provides legislators input on new laws, policy

By Dave Vieser. It was spring 2011 and former NC Rep. Thom TIllis, along with 31 other legislators were in New Orleans for the annual conference of ALEC, the American Legislative Exchange Council. Tillis was one of eight state lawmakers around the country to win 2011 “Legislator of the Year” awards from the group. Now, fast […]